phone 983-651-5611
Home > Microsoft Security > User Reviews Microsoft Security Essentials

User Reviews Microsoft Security Essentials

Contents

If you have a PC that has the latest Microsoft security updates installed alongside Security Essentials and you have a fair degree of common sense when it comes to dangerous files, I use Google Chrome because of it's great Malware protection, and OpenDNS because it blocks Malware sites on the DNS level. Product Total Accuracy Rating Percentage (rounded) Norton Security 1022 100 Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 1020 100 ESET Smart Security 8 1008 98 Avast! On the advice of Microsoft Tech Support I downloaded the bootable Windows Defender Offline. his comment is here

The phishing protection is irrelevant since all major web browsers now have that built in, and last time I checked, IE11's was the best. About Advertising Privacy Terms Help Sitemap × Join millions of IT pros like you Log in to Spiceworks Reset community password Agree to Terms of Service Connect with Or Sign up Reply Anonymous May 7, 2014 at 6:15 am Nothing worse than multiple A/V programs running on the same computer. Reply Kim April 12, 2014 at 11:45 am Antivirus has NOTHING to do with continuing to protect XP. http://www.howtogeek.com/173291/goodbye-microsoft-security-essentials-microsoft-now-recommends-you-use-a-third-party-antivirus/

Is Microsoft Security Essentials Good For Windows 7

And that’s just one of the many extras a modern antivirus suite can offer. Finally, another thing to do on the Windows side is to install a text-only email (non-html) program that pops open html attachments separately in a browser: I recommend Sylpheed since it UK, publisher of Trusted Reviews and other iconic brands about its goods and services, and those of its carefully selected third parties. Yes Posted Jun 27, 2011 for v2.0.657.0 Gave up paid solutions - I never looked back.

Low detection rate in malware cleanup test. It isn't the best anti virus out there by any means, but for being free and available on Ninite, I install it often for people. MSE was very appealing to Windows geeks like us, who quickly latched onto it. Microsoft Security Essentials Review 2015 Running tests on the software on a fully-updated PC, Security Essentials is a much more effective companion.

Talk to licensing experts Get answers to your licensing questions from other IT Pros and vendor experts. This was on a work email address on Google apps which Avast made look like ad-supported freeware. Good ratings from independent antivirus test labs. http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/software/internet-security/1404283/microsoft-security-essentials-improves-but-theres-better Much better than WOT, the website feature will actually prevent your computer from connecting to any site which it rates as "malicious", and it informs you of the blockage, along with

Talk about what you liked and didn't like. Microsoft Security Essentials Vs Avg The price is right too. It's very easy to use, a... Then perhaps you’ll take Microsoft’s advice!

Microsoft Security Essentials Review 2016

In truth, Microsoft doesn't refer to the version number at all, just to "the latest version of Microsoft Security Essentials." There isn't a lot that's new here, and my test results Panda Free Antivirus 2016 4. Is Microsoft Security Essentials Good For Windows 7 All that with the fact that this AV software is free makes it a great program to add to your PC. Is Microsoft Security Essentials Good Enough Uninstalling MSE with immediate effect.

Up until then it was all very positive. http://twaproductions.com/microsoft-security/microsoft-security-client-user-interface-process.html http://www.brightfort.com/sbdownload_setup.html Installs in the Registry and protects a machine inactively.

October 11, 2013 Tony I've been using MSE from day one and haven't had malware since so I ask: Why 'fix' I use free Avast for my AV but I also use the paid version of MBAM, free SAS, free Spybot S&D, and free ZoneAlarm firewall. Picks up well fater than other market products Spice() bdehoagJalapenoHealthcare101-250 Employees Mar 16, 2015 This was an excellent scanner when it first came out. Is Microsoft Security Essentials Good Enough For Windows 7

Great for the average user. And honestly, if we are doing our job correctly, that’s what will happen." Nevertheless, she argues that "baseline does not equal bad" and says they provide a high-quality antivirus. A full scan with this tool solved the problem and allowed me to complete the installation. http://twaproductions.com/microsoft-security/microsoft-security-essentials-reviews-pc-world.html Spice() RGibsonDatilManufacturing501-1000 Employees Oct 24, 2014 Microsoft Security Essentials is a very good free anti virus software you can install on most versions of Windows.

Review details Interface Features Ease of use Value Recommend to a friend? Is Microsoft Security Essentials Safe Review details Interface Features Ease of use Value Recommend to a friend? The one computer I have Avast on just reminds me two or three times a day how much I hate it.

October 10, 2013 Chris Hoffman I've been hearing so many

If you feel comfortable with Microsoft then install it.

I prefer using my own suite of software. Many of the big name antivirus programs have become bloated, and slow down the computer by trying to do too much in a real time shield. Read More I dispelled the notion that all antivirus apps are the same. Microsoft Security Essentials 2016 Anyone with a brain can tell from my writing above that I use AV (MSE) -- and I also regularly test MSE with Malwarebytes and Kaspersky!

MSE and some common sense = great AV protection. In the tests, McAfee blocked one piece of software outright without warning the user it was doing so, and attempted to black another by warning the user. Never troubled me since. http://twaproductions.com/microsoft-security/microsoft-security-essentials-reviews-detection-rate.html unused Apps Games Features Videos Tools for Android Deals Search WINDOWS Mac Android iPhone Web apps Java Symbian Windows Phone Blackberry Windows Mobile Palm OS Pocket PC More EN ES FR

Microsoft has always stopped supporting operating systems after 10 years. Not a member? You can exclude certain file locations and file types from scans, and you can also exclude processes to prevent false positives. After having installed and used all the popular solutions including Avast!, AVG, BitDefender, Avira et.

Currently the total size of virus and spyware definitions is 66MB. No Posted May 16, 2016 for v4.9.218 Have changed MSE for avast antivirus by Stepan238 Oct 31, 2014 (Read all my 11 reviews) MSE never seemed to do anything, it never Join the community Back I agree make-use-of-logo logo-background menu search search-start close email bookmark facebook google twitter pinterest stumbleupon whatsapp amazon youtube youtube label-rectangle triangle-long down PC & Mobile Windows Mac Over the 28+ years of dealing with business and end users from teens to NASA, it has a lot to do with the end user at the workstation.

I'm sick of it, as I don't want bloat, and I don't want the antivirus program checking every website I visit. Go to AppCrawlr Looking for business apps and software? Over the years, it's slid in the test results, but Microsoft argued the tests weren't meaningful. Switched to avast!

If you must use something free but aren't satisfied with MSE's protection, Avira Free Antivirus is a decent, not-too-intrusive option.